Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Salon Wait

The shockwaves are still resonating, so much so that I didn't get out for my usual photographic walk this morning. Who knows what will eventually transpire? It could even spell the end of my American adventure. I mean it is becoming pretty obvious that I cannot make a living in Jacksonville and that is the big problem. I moved to Florida from Texas and suddenly found that I had become unemployable despite two university degrees and, of course, the downturn in the US economy has not helped my situation.

Knowing that I had an appointment with my hairdresser, Courtney, this afternoon, I thought I would take my camera along and managed to fire off this shot while I sat and waited.

My appointment was for 1:30 but I was still waiting at 1:55. Courtney eventually told me that the owner of the salon, a former Dallas Cowboy cheerleader no less, had sent her a client, giving her 30 minutes to curl the client's hair. Given that the girl had a voluminous head of hair, Courtney knew it was going to take a lot longer, an hour as it turned out.

I like to think I used the time wisely from a photographic point of view.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.