Planko's Pics

By planko

Disappearing Dundee: Alexander Street Multies

Another shot for the Disappearing Dundee series. This time its the middle set of "hulltoon multis", in the Hilltown area of Dundee., which are set for demolition soon, probably early next year.

The official name for the area is Maxwelltown, which was the name of one of the multies, but everyone i know just lumped it in with hilltown.

Today was a day of contemplation and reflection for me. I spent a lot of time here when i was younger playing with friends from School who lived in these multies, so in a way i was sad to see them being prepared for demolition.

I've lots of memories (good and bad, but mainly good) from this area and era of my teenage years. Have spent many a night in various houses in these blocks.
The views across the tay from the highest flats is incredible, and its a pity i cant get in and take some shots.

The Maisonettes have already been demolished, which has opened up the whole place and made it look completely different from what i remember. The last time a shot like this was possible was when the multies were being built.

Made me think about my friends from those times, and how we drifted apart when i went to Uni and they got Jobs.

I met my best friend, soulmate & love of my life, Mrs P at Uni when i was just 19, and i think they found it strange that i didn't want to come out on the pull each Thurs-Sunday like we used to. Funny how priorities change over time. Uni became mine, then setting up house with Mrs P (Miss M back then), getting married, having kids, yada yada...

I occasionally hear from one or two of the old gang, and its sad how some of them still haven't really grown up and are still doing the same things each weekend that we did all those years ago. Each to their own! I definitely don't regret the choices i made as I've a lovely family and home and do work that i (mainly) enjoy.

As i had nipped out at lunchtime, i had to swing past the bakery and grab twa bridies :)

Planko

Update: My little Sis just texted to say that one of my friends from School (girlfriend for a few weeks, friend for a very long time), Amanda Brown (now Amanda Lawson), just died. Same age as me. I'm very shocked and saddened. Hadnt seen her for years. My thoughts go out to her husband and two little kids. Somehow today i was meant to think about the past.

I think i'll be having a whisky tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.