Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

The Devil's in the Diptych

Up at stupidly early o'clock this morning along with Henry. He was bursting to have a go at another Polaroid emulsion transfer and so was I. We decided that he'd dress up in his devil costume (hey all boys have a devil costume right?) and I'd snap him.

The original idea was for us to try one emulsion transfer and one Polaroid manipulation using my SX70 and some ancient film. However, best laid plans and all that...the camera works...the film cartridge worked but the film was sadly dead...it was extinct...definitely late film.

So we messed about with a couple of poses and then tried the emulsion lift on a couple of shots. I let H do one and he was a bit upset that the delicate emulsion tore but the shapes made me think of paper caught in a flame so our BIG IDEA was born.

I photographed the diptych and we made a texture out of water colour paper and red and black ink which I also photographed. Then I super imposed a flame texture I took last year of our fire over the top...a tablespoon of hue slider; a cup of multiply and overlay blends; a teaspoon of levels layer here and pinch of a layer mask there and voila...our very own devil diptych!

We do have lots of genuinely nice and cute photos of Henry and Bob pumpkin carving which I'll upload to Flickr eventually but I thought there might be lots of those on here today so we uploaded something a bit different.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Oh...and mods...it *isn't* a border...it's our red and black ink texture...all part of the image and meant to look charred :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.