The Next Star Is Mine

By astronick

My 100th Munro

After a brilliant day celebrating someone's 283rd Munro on Saturday, the next day was to be a smaller milestone for me. After almost three years I stepped on to the summit of my 100th Munro, Spidean Mialach above Loch Quoich.

This photo was actually taken much earlier in the day, on the excellent stalker's path which climbs high above the waters of the loch and gives astonishing views west to the hills of the Rough Bounds of Knoydart. It leads up to the Munro of Gleouraich, from which we traversed a great, snowy ridge east to Spidean Mialach.

Although I still have 183 Munros still to climb it was a great feeling to get into three figures, and to do it on a weekend that involved some of the best views I've had in Scotland, and certainly some of the best and most dramatic light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.