Blipper's Daily (?)

By blipper

The Agony and the Ecstasy

First the Ecstasy....

A brilliant night last night attending the Marina and the Diamonds concert at the HMV Picture House in Edinburgh. The Family Jewels is my favourite album of 2010 and Marina is even better live than on the album. Her voice and stage presence are just astonishing. I did feel slightly out of place though since at least 80% of the audience were female and less than half my age! However once I looked at the concert list for the Picture House I immediately felt young again when I noticed various bands who I saw back in my youth are still doing the rounds (Stiff Little Fingers, Heaven 17, The Human League, Marc Almond)....

And Now the Agony....


Due to the (understandable) camera policy of the venue I couldn't take my DSLR into the gig (with high ISO and fast lens) so I was restricted to my compact camera with its cr*p low light performance. Never been so frustrated in my life...missed literally hundreds of great photo opportunities with the great stage prsence of Marina, her costumes and the lighting.....still perhaps another time.

PS - Don't bother looking at this shot in BIG....it's rubbish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.