Daily Wild

By emyjane

Red List House Sparrow

View Large

My daily blip photo is fast turning into birds taken through dirty windows.... Well what can I do? it's grey, it's grim, it's windy & it's wet out there... there's nothing very interesting to take inside & there's no light of any kind to be taken outside, so through the windows it is for the time being!

On BBC4 tonight was a programme called Birds Britannia - mainly dealing with this Nations love of garden birds & how they came to be. But also about the declining house sparrow due to pollution, oh & cats as well... though they said nothing about habitat loss, I'm really not sure what to believe but I can happily report that I have at least 100 sparrows living in my garden - I live on the outer edge of a small village amongst a rural community - mostly farmers - who actually don't give two hoots about their wildlife around them, not many in the village feed their birds, only a handful, so most of the birds in the area come to us, hence the number of birds I see & photograph through my windows! :)

Note: as the title suggests, the house sparrows are now on the red list which indicates they're one of the most threatened species in Britain & Ireland, because either the number of birds is rapidly falling or their ranges are contracting.. so says my RSPB Handbook of British Birds... contracting? Nah just moving to my garden... but it's not mine - it's THEIRS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.