Visitors

The weather started badly and got worse, so I was delighted that my cycling friend was coming for lunch to relay all the gossip and chat over hot soup and sandwiches.

My eight legged blip decided to stay outside and not gate crash the proceedings.
In fact it's still there and may well be having a snooze while it shelters from the weather.

Despite the inclemency, the men were outside continuing to landscape the grounds near the Dower House, their boots thick with wet mud and their yellow jackets soaked.

With nothing better to do, I watched as they manoeuvered a fully mature pin oak tree into its allotted hole outside the window. We now have six such trees newly planted immediatly outside- a plethora of foliage one might say!

It came on a fork lift truck with its roots covered in a big ball of sacking and its branches trussed up, and after they were cut free of their binding, it was hoisted by a strap round its trunk to a vertical position before being lowered into the hole. Now it stands right outside my study window looking quite perky, although as far as I could see it was planted with all the sacking still around the root ball. Maybe some blipper can tell me why.

Now that it's truly dark and wet, I have to meet my granddaughter somewhere on the path between here and her school because she's coming to supper. Spaghetti bolognese is on the menu as it's her favourite meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.