What a Stoater

This sign has been in my blip bank for over a year because it always makes me smile when I pass it.

I think the Scots word 'stoater' is a Glasgow variation of the Scots word 'stotter' which is defined in the Scots Dictionary, if used as a noun, as the act of stottering (staggering), or of stotting (bouncing) a ball but mainly as a term of admiration for a beautiful looking woman ie she was a wee stotter or stoater.

This sign uses the more anglified 'What" instead of 'Whit ' as would normally be used in the remark- 'Whit a Wee Stoater!'.

This particular sign has absolutely nothing to do with a lady's looks but refers to the Daily Star of Scotland, a rag newspaper of doubtful reliability.

My snowdrops from an online site arrived today and under the cloak of darkness I'm going to plant them under the grass outside the Dower House where they will be invisible to the authorities until they burst forth in January to gladden our wintry hearts. I hope I'm not caught in the act of digging.

Also today, I received my birthday present from His Lordship a week early.
Yes I know I'm a Scorpio which as far as I can see is not one of the nicer personality signs to have been born under, and from all accounts it's a bad match to be married to a Virgo.

My present came in the post and by giving it to me straight from the post man, he tells me it saves the wrapping paper. What are the character traits of a Virgo, I ask?

The package contained a Kindle and it's charging as I blip. Then I will have the excitement of wondering which books to download on to it.
I admit I'm a bit of a techy geek, an attribute which I have passed on to a least one of my children. I'm sure he knows who he is.

It is raining and dark again this afternoon, but the light is enhancing the orange colours on the flowering cherry tree leaves along the paths in the Meadows. They were so beautiful in the spring with their pink blossom and now they're equally bonny in their autumn livery. I feel tomorow's blip coming on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.