Remember, Remember...

Toyotas don't make great tractors.

A bit of a trauma tonight whilst out taking some shots of the fireworks going off over our village. It was no problem taking the pics, and after this we headed off on a tour of the Wee County to see what else was going on. It was only when I'd parked up back home I realised I'd left my camera bag lying at this spot. Numpty. No problem I thought, it was an a pitch black single track road that hardly any cars drive along.

So we headed back down to the spot and, sure enough, there was the bag just where I left it it. Stuck it in the car and turned into the nearby farm gate to do a three point turn and head back. Bad mistake. One of those that you knew was a bad mistake even before you've done it. But I did. And the car sunk. Right up to the front axle. I sat for a bit trying to ease it back and forward but when Euan said he could smell burnt toast (the clutch was pleading for mercy at this point) we stopped and stepped out to inspect it. As I mentioned, this was very quiet road but around ten minutes later a car stopped with three females inside. They drove us up to their farmhouse a few hundred yards down the road and took us back with a spade and pieces of wood to try and work the car free.

Long story short, half an hour later, after another good samaritan stopped by and they'd all sweated and strained the car eventually popped out of the mud and cow dung. By then we were all caked in the noxious stuff but we were thankfully back on the road.

I feel really bad that because of my extreme numptiness there are three other people having to scrape mud off their clothes and most likely from their car that they gave us a lift in. Hopefully I'll catch up with them in the daylight to thank them properly with more than the big muddy hug that they left with tonight.

So, extreme car washing tomorrow, inside and out. I think it needs it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.