horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

(Wax)Winging It

I think I'm back. Probably. Maybe. I'm winging it.

Had a good day for the soul yesterday. Random day off for some cycling, with a side intention being to try and spot some wildlife for my website. Grey and windy days aren't necessarily the best for that kind of thing, but two moments made it all worthwhile. But first, the route dear reader. For this was no aimless meander. Ah no, time to tackle the 7 Hills of Home. Is there a city in the world that doesn't want to be like Rome and be built on 7 hills?

No matter, in 'Hipsta' style I bike/hiked out of Duddingston to the summit of nearby Arthur's Seat; celestial Blackford Hill; the multiple Braid Hills; took luncheon atop Wester Craiglockhart Hill; braved Kaimes Road to the towering Corstorphine Hill; rocked up to the Castle; before completing my disgrace in the rain on Calton Hill.

Did I care about the rain? For shame! You should no me better than that - I was astride my two-wheeled stress-buster, and then there were the two aforementioned moments of magic. First on Craiglockhart's mount, indulging in a baguette washed down, in Continental fashion, with some Cherry Coke, I was given a virtuoso display in hovering by a Kestrel who, though keeping an eye on what I was doing, let me get within 15m of his anti-gravitational show, while on the same vertical level.

And then, heading from that literal and metaphorical high point, picking a route through Saughton towards Corstorphine, the flock of beasties I've been hoping to see, the glorious Waxwings. A Scandinavian interloper, we appear to be in for a Waxwing winter. The first time I've seen these punks, and I'm smitten.

Rounding off what was probably the. Best. Day. Off. Ever. Involved hopping on a bus to meet Mel from work for alcoholic beverages and a dining experience. Karmic balance restored somewhat today by being a touch on the lurgy side, but managed to take Mel in the car to Saughton/Balgreen/Murrayfield after a trip to the fishmonger to see if the Waxies were still there. The picture above clearly gives the game away.

So what have I been up to while not blipping? Er, not much. Couple of theatre trips and just 'stuff', which isn't going badly. Ergo my possible return for random wordage applied to occasionally good shots.

Oh, before I forget, one wonderful other moment from yesterday's travels. Heading up to Castle Rock I was stopped by a woman in a red jacket exiting a little booth who told me that cycling on the esplanade is not allowed. I acquiesced, seeing it as no hardship to walk the bike to my destination. Only then did I think it strange that, in a place where bikes are not allowed, numerous cars were parked. As I walked back down a taxi turned on the esplanade, dropping off some grateful tourists. It all seemed a little skewed. I queried, on my way out, while explaining it wasn't much hardship, why bikes were not to be ridden, but cars could drive. The answer, and this is a direct quote, was that 'Health and Safety' was responsible, and that 'People can see cars, they can't see bikes.' I had forgotten my cloak of invisibility....

The explanation suggests an odd thought. That bikes and cars simply drive willy-nilly on the esplanade, not caring if there is any chance of hitting a pedestrian, and it is down to the pedestrians to avoid both, which they can do easily in the case of cars, but not with non-visible bikes. I'd suggest that neither driver nor rider actually sets out with the intention of reckless collision possibility, and nor is it incumbent upon pedestrians to avoid such collisions in such a situation.

I didn't ask where motorcycles lay in the hierarchy of visibility.

I was told to complain to Historic Scotland... Being a public body I can feel an FOI request brewing. First up, I wouldn't mind seeing the risk assessment that says bikes are invisible, or that cars have the potential to cause less harm.

Yeah.

I think I'm back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.