"We are not amused"

Due to the p*ssing rain, DaveH was disappointed in his hopes of a firework blip to celebrate his 500th blipday yesterday. So when we were out and about up town this morning in the bright clear sunshine I was secretly planning a celebratory firework blip of my own this evening. That was before the rain came p*ssing back - I don't think there'll be as much as a damp squib tonight. And I read a cautionary tale earlier about Delph Wynd Daily's very unfortunate experience of blipping fireworks on a wet dark night.

So this is just an Edinburgh seagull atop a young Queen Victoria atop the Royal Scottish Academy building. She didn't seem interested in holding up a red balloon, but at least the sun was shining.

Traditional but nonetheless heartfelt thanks are due to Joe Blogs for thinking of this remarkable site and then sharing it ; to all at Blip central; and of course to all my fellow blippers for sharing their amazing photos and their equally amazing daily lives. And to DaveH who got me a camera and to Jim who directed us here originally. And I find that MAiT's mission statement still sums up my blip-thinking very well.

I guess the high blip-point of my year has to be when I blipped one gravestone amongst the thousands in Tyne Cot cemetery and on the other side of the world the wonderful Cabbagetree Cottage located the WWI soldier's nephew (by finding the same name in the phonebook) and was able to give him a photograph of his uncle's grave.

I've been listening to a song recently that concerns the passing of time. (There's a clip of the author singing it here)

If I were young again I'd pay attention
To a little known invention
The taste of endless time
Just like water it runs right through my fingers
But the flavour of it lingers like a rich red wine.

In those days we were single, we lived them one by one
Now we hardly see 'em; they don't walk, they run
But I've got plenty left I've set my sights on
Don't wait up, leave the light on,
I'll be home soon.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.