Mumford & Sons

House of Blues
Dallas, Texas
November 4, 2010

Mumford & Sons Set on Flickr

Mumford & Sons has SOUL. That's the reason why people resonate with their lyrics and music so much. It has to be the reason. This band sings about truth and shortcomings and love and hope. Obviously - they're my favorite band right now.
I don't say those things lightly. They sing TRUTH. It fills you up and leads you up paths you wouldn't have chosen unless you were inspired. I know this because Mumford & Sons' music has led me there before.

Sold out show in Dallas.. just another sold out gig along their tour. They didn't disappoint tonight. It was wonderful. And, for once, I was happy not to have the pressure of a photo pass in my pocket. I took all my shots from behind gals with unnecessarily large bows in their hair and guys that had no business being so close to the front since their 6'4" (193 cm) stature blocked light and sight from the people behind them. (Yes, I have a soapbox. Who doesn't? Maybe if I had brought it to the venue, I would have been able to see better from on top of it.)

They opened with Sigh No More and it was perfect as the crowd sang along, knowing every word. In fact, they sang with almost every song as well, save the three unreleased songs we got to preview.. one of which they had only written last week while they were out on tour. (Thank you, thank you, thank you). I only remember the title of one of the new songs, Below My Feet. Mumford & Sons played their album in its entirety - for a solid hour and a half. The trumpets were beautiful on Winter Winds, even though from my vantage point I couldn't see them. I was expecting more leg jamming intensity from the Banjoist, Winston Marshall, on Little Lion Man (having just seen their music video for it only last week), - though it didn't take away from their performance one bit. The lights were fantastic - and also just like they were in that video. Maybe I haven't mentioned it enough, but I. Love. Lightbulbs.
They made the live show just that much better. Now on my wish list is a wide angle - 21mm? 19mm? 15mm? - architectural-type lens so I have zero distortion and am able to capture a stage to my liking. Before their encore, Cadillac Sky and King Charles (the openers) came out on stage and everybody sang and played together. For the encore, Mumford & Sons closed us out with Awake My Soul and The Cave. Also, I have a huge crush on the Banjoist. Just saying.
Makes me regret not getting a ticket to come see them back in June when they last came through Dallas. I should have just gone alone since I didn't know who would have gone with me.
Also, it was totally worth sneaking my camera into the House of Blues. I'm pretty sure they have a strict 'no camera' policy.. how did they not see my D300 + lens + back up battery pack? I'll never tell.

Unfortunately some of my favorite shots of the night ended up being taken after midnight, so I posted this one for November 4th.
The rest of the set can be found on flickr. I don't think they're too shabby considering I was in the crowd. (Thank you, 50mm lens!)

Happy Novement 4th er'rebody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.