Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Christmas Cactus - Zygocactus Truncatus

I have been starting to plan the ten images I have to submit for my OU final assessment. I decided to have a go with this cactus flower, which just emerged today.

I placed my black shawl behind it, and set up three desk lamps, with one laid under the flower. No natural light. Monopod out, macro lens on. I wanted to pick up some of the velvet texture of the petals, as well as the stamen droplets which had fallen onto the petals. f8 and an ISO of 800. Partial metering on the centre, to include the brightness on the petal and the darker stamen area. I am quite pleased with this one, and might have another go when other flowers emerge. It was difficult trying to keep the leaves out of the way.

The rest of the day was spent doing loads of catch up housework and laundry. If you didn't see my backblip from yesterday of M's fantastic shoes, please click here.

SF

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.