Circle of the Seasons

By GCleare

Pearls Before the Swine

Last night we were getting ready to go to our friend's birthday Pig Roast when I suddenly realized I had forgotten to Blip! OMG!

With 46 entries in the bag, no way was I going to miss a day. I see that many of you have accumulated thousands of images, with nary a gap. I can do this, I thought. Got to come up with something...quick!

So I wondered, what did I DO today? Nothing very picturesque, unfortunately. I made jewelry for a holiday "seconds" sale they do to raise money every year at a wonderful place called Snow Farm, the New England Crafts Center. This is where you can go for a weekend of lessons in welding, weaving, glass-blowing, etc. In the summers they have week-long residential sessions for high school kids, too.

The secret is out. I am a Beader. I confess. It is an obsession nearly as addictive as photography.

So here is my latest bracelet design, shot very glamorously on the bathroom sink countertop. It is made of sterling silver with real pearls, dyed bronze and natural ivory, and some gorgeous natural smoky topaz. I wore it to the party last night and received tons of compliments, especially after I waved it in people's faces and said, "Whaddya think??"

This will sell for $60 and Snow Farm gets to keep 40%. I get just enough to support my habit and buy more beads!!!

A win-win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.