Gallop

Much ado about nothing - that would aptly describe the brief period of time sandwiched between the two long cab rides. Things were rather simple and there wasn't much I had to do. I even briefly allowed myself to entertain the thought that I had been singled out. I didn't come back beaming because much lay ahead. Much lies ahead.

Had to stay late in office and was unlucky with the time I chose to return. There was load-shedding in the area and I wasn't sure how long it would take for the power to return. My bike is black and I have no lights. I should remember to carry my reflective jacket to work, now that days are growing shorter. Northen India is both plagued and decorated (depending on what you're looking at) with mist during winters and on a evening like this, cutting through deep lengths of haze on a bicycle isn't a wise idea. The visibility is negligible and roads always with surprising potholes. It did help me though, knowing the terrain of my daily commute thoroughly in my attempt to avoid those dents. The service lane, barely wide enough to accommodate two cars side-by-side drops off sharply to each side, and in absolute darkness one is only guessing. The brief glimmer of light from cars passing by on the expressway filtering through the trees is a respite but once there are vehicles coming from the opposite direction shining their headlamps in full beam through thick mist, everything is coated with a blurry cloak of invisibility forcing me to a snail's pace. And then quite the opposite happens when a car appears from behind, and that is when I quicken the pace to a full throttle in my attempt to use their headlamps for as long as I can. Cheap thrills aside, which I admit I enjoyed, for men will always be boys at heart, what I loved about this slightly dangerous ride was how it demanded my absolute concentration, not allowing a single ounce of attention to turn to anything else.

Anyway, what I like about still-life images is how still they can be, but what I don't like about them as blips, is they are too still to speak for the day, when it's movement most days are about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.