Sabine Thoele

By SabineThoele

Armistice day

Working in Westminster has many advantages as you happen to come across events that might otherwise don't get your attention. I have to admit I was not aware of it being armistice day today. It was only when I noticed the unusually large numbers of service men milling about that I finally cottoned on that it was not just any ordinary day. I saw this gentleman in the hallway of my local pub chatting away to the landlady when I passed. I had to stop and ask him about his uniform as I thought it was so striking. It is a drummer's uniform and dates from 1905. The colour red was chosen as it was the cheapest dye at the time. (I am not sure that was such a wise choice as it really makes you stand out but then what do I know ...) The dog, the mascot of the regiment is called "Watchman". I think probably the reason for his naming lies in the fact that the drummers are there to guard the flag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.