Crofty

By Crofty

Lucky Find

I thought I'd share a piece of good fortune that I had around two years ago with my fellow Blippers. I moved into my house around 9 years ago. The house was built in 1900 and has a basement that I now use for storing tools, garden furniture and other assorted junk. When I first moved in the basement needed a good clear out as the people that I bought the house from had kindly left me all the stuff that they could't be bothered taking to the dump. When clearing out I came across a very dirty, grimey heavy ornamental metal vase / planter thing about 2 feet high.

I didn't throw it out and for about 5 years it remained in the basement where I stored some spanners, paint brushes and a set of car jump leads in it. When rummaging around in the basement one day I though maybe it would look good polished up sitting in my hall with some of those Ikea branch stick things in it. I took it to a metal polisher who charged me £40 to have it cleaned and advised me to have it valued as it was bronze. I did and you can imagine my shock when I was told that it was worth about £1100 ! Not sold it yet though, and its still in my hall full of Ikea stick things.

So glad the previous owners of my house were too lazy to clear out the basement !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.