Club 107

By club107

Strictly speaking, he was an idiot

So for Kip, my worst boss ever....

Imagine an old school company in a rural part of the middle of nowhere in France. Well you will probably have some difficulties doing that unless you have lived in France or are familiar with the country. It is quite hard to describe the nonsensical character that was Monsieur C. Arrogant, volatile, sexist, patronising, uncultured, boorish, offensive, lunatic, oh the words do come thick and fast but the weird thing is, I actually quite liked the oaf. I don't know, he wanted to be charming, he was a chancer, a good salesman and negotiator but he was a dreadful manager, had precious few people skills and sacked so many people, it was impossible to keep up.

I lasted 10 months before I resigned following the death of my mother and a decision to relocate back to sunny Scotland, yes today's view was the sort I missed in Trifouille-les-chausettes. He made me laugh in the same way Ricky Gervais managed with David Brent. It was painful to watch, as he racked up miles so he could pay himself for petrol, having blazing rows with all his poor staff, maintaining some loss making part of the business so he could go and see 'l'autre femme'.

Above all else, he was a real classy individual. There was a bizarre room where there was a fridge, on which there was a coffee machine and rather oddly, in one corner a closed off toilet and in the other a non-closed off urinal. We would congregate there to drink coffee and I would listen to either tirades of complaints and anectdotes were Mr C out 'doing business' or if he were gracing us with his presence listen to his often humourous tales. He probably would have made for an interesting neighbour, then again.

One day I recall we were having our coffee and Mr C walked in started telling us something or other, poured himself a cup, put it down. Nature called, so naturally he walked over to the urinal and continued talking, looking over his shoulder thinking nothing of handling Monsieur Johnson and the fact that there were people, including at least four women present. I doubt he even washed his hands.

Ah they don't make them like they used to ...



Otherwise a good but windy day, and I managed to do one thing tonight which I really enjoy, have a bath. So damn relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.