A late night at the office

Not for me I hasten to add. It was simply a long day. At 2 minutes to eleven I suddenly realised the significance of the time. I am certainly of the opinion that I would show respect to hose who had fallen but it is a sheer coincidence that I was watching a documentary by journalist John Pilger on the War you don't see. It was depressing viewing, not my usual go to work comedy style. Obviously anyone familiar with Pilger will know the general stance and arguments. I do admire him I have to say, not scared to ask awkward questions of those who should be answering them.

I think the statistic which struck me the most was the one regarding the increasing percentage of civilian deaths from World War 1 through WW II, Vietnam up to the war in Iraq, the grim total 80%. So yes I remember those who fell for the nation to make this country, but I also remember the millions who die for no reason in wars they have nothing to do with.

11°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.