Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

We Will Remember Them

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.

At the going down of the sun, and in the morning,
We will remember them.


With today being Remembrance Day in the UK and Veterans Day in the US, my blip could only really be one picture.

Not for me the Cenotaph in Whitehall or the Royal British Legion, not even the famous red poppies. The best bet was Troops of Time, a business on Copeland Street, in Riverside, which sells model soldiers and flies the American flag and Union Jack from its premises. Today, the owners had planted small Stars & Stripes flags at the edge of the lawn in the front yard.

I shot in RAW and also the high contrast B&W mode of the Ricoh GRD III. I really am having some fun with that. Today, I decided to see if I could create a similar high contrast B&W effect with my B&W conversion in Silver Efex Pro and am pleased with the result.

This blip was almost a photograph too far. My cold worsened today and I broke out in a muck sweat during the walk to and from the location, and it was not all that hot. During the last half mile of my walk back, I was really dragging but this picture made it all worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.