Kamran

By kamran

Can you guess?

Let the water settle; you will see the moon and stars mirrored in your being. --Jelaluddin Rumi

.............................................................

Break this silence -Shift of Medium -
My first attempt in Acrylic paints


It was exactly two months ago I announced my departure from blip. Things are much different now. Then I was a blip-addicted photographer who asked everyone for taking pictures of them. Then I suddenly gave up photography and for last two months I didn't take any pictures. There were more reasons than I mentioned in the last blip. I was (am) too shy to tell them all. I am thankful to everyone of you who took their time to comment on my last blip. I truly treasure your words.

The news is, after selling more than half of my camera equipment I wanted a medium which could replace photography. Then I returned to drawing and painting after more than 8 years. Currently I am spending my spare time with oil paints, calligraphy, Lego models and reading about sculptures. Yesterday I bought acrylics and today I made my first-ever drawing in Acrylics.

I could observe strange differences between my photography and drawings. In the past as well as present I always wanted to achieve maximum realism in my drawings (for example see this). On the other hand, in photography I often liked to do unrealistic pictures either by subject or by color casting photos. Although I know the opposite makes more sense: photograhs should be realistic and the paintings unrealistic or depict surrealism.

Anyhow in my first Acrylic drawing I tried to be child-like and make an abstract portrait. Can anybody guess who she might be? You gain 10 points if you guess right and 5 even if your guess is wrong :-) The answer is given at the bottom, but first make a guess.

There is another top-secret project of oil-painting that I am currently working at. You may have to wait a couple of months before it gets finished. I will stay away from photography for now as painting allows me much more freedom to express myself. But it's just a shift of mediums I think.


------------------------
The answer is here

P.S. Oh, this painting would be soon dispatched to whom it should belong to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.