No Domestic Goddess...

By NotNigella

Old lady...

I am always amazed at how different this dog is when our kids are out of the house and it's lovely and peaceful. Skye will not whinge and follow me around like a shadow, no - she curls up in her bed and, as befits a dog of her ripe old age, she sleeps most of the day.

When the kids are in, she whinges and whines, jumps around like a puppy despite her grey whiskers, is never more than 6" away from my leg, and it is guaranteed I will trip over her at least half a dozen times - and then of course I will shout at her and send her to her bed instead.

Why she hasn't learned after all this time I don't know. But the past two days while I've been off work sick, and the kids have been in nursery and school, she's been a lovely peaceful companion.

*dog snoring in the background*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.