Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Catching up. in Singapore

We think we've found a better way to manage the Aus trip the only problem is that we needed to find out the embarrassing way by missing our connecting flight.

It's a long tale! I could make up all kinds of stories but when I changed the time on my watch I seem to have misread the dial and set it for an hour earlier than it actually was (and A, bless her, didn't change hers at all so she couldn't keep a check on my time keeping). So when we turned up at the flight check-in, the Sydney flight had already gone!!!! How could I be so stupid! I've travelled quite a bit and never managed to miss a flight before so I was either very jet-lagged or simply getting too complacent!

So things went in threes' - first my badly cut finger in Munich, then our missed flight and finally my credit card company blocking my card after I'd attempted to make a third phone call to my daughter (after all I did tell the card people that I was going to Aus and not Singapore!).

So here I am (hence the fact it's not my photo) e-mailing A in Australia to tell them our new arrangements and to try and persuade them that it was our silly fault for missing the flight and we'd manage to get to their house under our own steam.

All I can say is that the hotel room in the airport cost us less for eight hours than did the patching up of my finger in Munich and it may well be something that we deliberately plan into any further flights to Aus! It felt really good to have had a few hours sleep in a real bed.


Back blip - photo courtesy of A

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.