Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Waxwings in flight!!

What a lovely day. I planted bulbs this morning, then after lunch I took Dickie (the wonder dog) for a walk in the fields. At first all I could hear were a flock of noisy seagulls in the distance. Then I heard a magical sound, and when I looked up, the waxwings were in one tree.

I had the 18 - 200 mm lens so took a few shots, but they were too high to show any detail. D and I raced home, no time to remove the boots or dry muddy paws, upstairs to find the 70 - 300mm lens. Back to the field, all within 10 mins, but no waxwings. After another 5 mins I heard them again. Still too high even for the 300mm lens, but I enjoyed doing the best I could.

I love this one because it shows the flock in flight. The little quiffs flatten down as they fly. No waxwing has been cloned into this image!!

As usual, best in large

Other images from today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.