Rioja...

By Rioja

Number One

Blip number one.... and the youngest member of The Frew Crew, one year old Harry - Number One little Rascal!

Don't let the looks fool you. His whole waken day is about getting up to mischief and if he's not getting up to mischief, he's looking to see what mischief he can get up to - all innocent of course!

We moved into a new house in June and of course with all new house moves, you like to try and stamp your mark. I decided that I was going to take on a wee project, renovating the the small down stairs toilet.

It was aptly titled 'Project Shunky' and required the whole thing to be stripped from floor to ceiling and if the plumbing wasn't a challenge enough, I also decided to strip the plaster off one wall to expose the brick, making a feature wall - all a good idea at the time.

With the assistance of a 4 year old and a one year old and a few lost tools in between, I finally got it finished over 2 months later. After several uses and a couple of occasions of me just sitting admiring my handy work, I noticed when the newly installed toilet flushed, it would fill up but not empty quite as quick?

Pops (the father in-law) and I have just spent today lifting manholes and drain covers to see what on earth could be causing this. Low and behold, what did we find down the pipes .... one dustpan brush, one pointing tool and everything that was supposed to go down the toilet, backed up behind it.... wasn't pleasant!

After several pokes and prods and a couple of homemade hooks, we finally managed to free the blockage of all things that weren't meant to be down there. All courtesy of you know who... Number One Rascal... and guess what....?

... I wouldn't change it for the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.