CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

When black and white are in colour

Such a lovely lazy Sunday lie-in, followed by a loll in the bath. I can't keep up the pace of old. So today is quiet.

I suggested that we go and buy some fresh trout for supper, from the Bibury Trout Farm, which sits on the river Coln. The farm is sited below the former mill ponds of the 17th century Arlington Mill, which now appears deserted again, before I fear it is converted into flats. The Trout Farm, on the other side of the leat, is on the Japanese tourist trail through Bibury and the "prettified" Cotswolds. Even the plaques describing the views and the natural history are translated for them. There was of course a coach (but no horses) which had brought them here, but I don't think they were buying trout.

We grabbed a few of the last fish, then went to see the river and a quick walkabout. It is a very pretty village scene, although the light was fading and the day had been relentlessly grey. I had hoped to see some of the monster trout which can usually be seen swimming beneath the bridge, escapees from the farm, I like to think. But none were there. Have the fisherman been at them, as the adjacent Swan Hotel does promote its own fishing rights to its clientele?

Standing on the bridge, I saw the black swan gently swimming towards us against the stream. After much competition for the tourists' bread between the swans, ducks and coots, I finally managed this shot. There has been a lot of talk recently of Black and White, so this is my contribution for today.

ps
The white blob on the black swan's beak is actually part of a band of white markings, which might have been seen better on another possible blip. Very unusual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.