Skyroad

By Skyroad

Whistler Blues

I took a spin with the wean before tea; my wife was working late and had to take some people to dinner. He fell asleep of course, too late in the day (around 4 p.m.) so I knew he'd be up late, which he was.

I left him fast asleep in the car and stepped out at Sandycove. Keeping the car in sight, I walked down the few yards to the sea wall and onto the concrete ledge, the incoming tide slapping at my feet.

I panned the seabirds I saw swooping low nearby. I didn't really think I'd got anything till I checked in photoshop. Something about the pale, edgy shape of the gulls, like crisp origami birds, and the flat line of the sea "scarred but at peace." Those evening blues (the same kind of palette Whistler used in 'Battersea Bridge') always give me a lift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.