Print to disc

A fundamental requirement for my new printer was that it be able to print directly onto recordable CDs and DVDs. Apart from the more mundane occasions when I need to keep track of what's on work-related and backup media, another important need is the various bits and bobs that I produce for the Music Group I'm part of. We each bring along ten minutes of music for the weekly sessions, and I've recently got into the habit of preparing CDs full of 10-minute selections so that I don't fall into the trap of grabbing something at the last minute as I dash out the door.

I've been using old-fashioned stick-on labels up until this (and even that has fallen by the wayside since my previous printer went on the blink). So it was all very exciting yesterday as I put together another one of these selection CDs and set about a first test of the new printer's print-to-disc facility. It turned out brilliantly, and I'm really looking forward to playing more and more with this (and hopefully producing some more adventurous designs than this first effort). (I also need to get some decent-quality paper stock for printing out inserts for the jewel boxes - this effort on plain paper rather lets down the standard.)

I was hosting today's session. Unusually for me, I had all the cleaning and tidying done well in advance of the first arrival. Carl and I had arranged for a car handover today (he's taking my Fiat Panda and I'll revert to using my Renault Mégane). There's been a great flurry of activity over the past few weeks involving insurance and tax and resident permits and all that sort of thing, and I really also wanted to hand over the Fiat in pristine condition. Yesterday's trip in to town was about getting a valet job done, but the crowd that used to provide a valet service in my usual city-centre car park are no longer there, and neither was there one operational in a different car park where I thought there might be. So, with time on my hands, I went round to the steam wash place near home and joined a not very long queue. Unfortunately, they proved to be too thorough, I still hadn't advanced much further up the queue after twenty-five minutes, and I gave up. Disappointing, but Carl assured me he had no complaints about his new car not being washed or valeted.

To mark the handover we went to Moloughney's restaurant as arranged earlier in the week. They offer an even better deal than the usual two or three course 'early bird' menu - 55 euro for two courses for two people with a bottle of house wine included. We went for that. It wasn't great, I'm afraid. I had a rather bland Bramley Apple and Parsnip soup and followed this with Ham Hock (the meat was nicely cooked, though a bit dry near the skin, and the accompaniments were lacking in finesse). Carl's wasn't any happier with his choices of Pumpkin and Feta Cheese Fritters followed by Wild Venison Sausages. All in all, I felt that if the food had been better it would have been great value.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.