Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Spectacular Sunset

Today was a day with a very different sort of an ending. We got up late, having slept for over 10 hours straight, ate pancakes, did some household jobs, then settled down to watch the Grand Prix.

After the Grand Prix, however, I got together all the things I'd been gradually packing throughout the day, put them all in the car and set off, ultimately, in a north-westerly direction.

First I went briefly into town, where the urban knitters had been at work again. I had fully intended to blip the knitted poppies they'd created, but on the drive west I was treated to some wonderful views as the sun set, and I eventually pulled over into a layby to take the picture that became today's blip!

I finally arrived at my destination, a house in the middle of North Wales, about 7.30 in the evening and was greeted by my very long-standing Welsh friend, with whom I'm staying for a few days, playing music, and going into the Junior school where he's teaching for a bit of experience.

It was a real blast from the past coming to a house I last visited with Scharwenka about 15 years ago, and before that, visited regularly when I was in my late teens and early 20s! It's changed a bit since then, but not so much as it might have done. Tomorrow will give me a better chance to see what's been going on when it's light.

It was, of course, very strange going to bed without the Wonderspouse or the Ice Road Truckers DVD to keep me company. Perversely, for a chilly night, I thought of Canadian and Alaskan ice roads to help me get to sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.