Made in Detroit

Actually, I think it was made in Chicago but it was certainly made by a genuine Detroit legend. Alan Oldham is a comic illustrator/suthor, musician, label owner and DJ originally from Detroit.

I, like many techno music fans, first became aware of him through label art for Derrick May's Transmat label and Dutch label Djax records. His label art for Djax in particular was legendary on the techno scene. I've also got comics he did for +8 records and Djax.

I was lucky enough to see him Dj at Summer House in Edinburgh in his role of official Underground Resistance DJ with Robert Hood. I've got several of his records and when we had our record shop back in the mid nineties we sol loads of stuff on his Generator label.

When there was the chance to buy and original piece of his work through Facebook I jumped at the chance. I bought this way back in JAnuary but only took delivery today as he had a show at Outland Records in Amsterdam that he wanted to exhibit it in. This is based on one of his early comics Johnny Gambit

It looks even better than it does in any photos.

Thanks Alan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.