Appreciation

By Appreciation

New Windaes

Since 9.00am this morning four young lads and the foreman have been hammering and banging in my hoose. They are replacing half of the windows. Can't afford to have the whole house done as the windows are old victorian sash and cord beauties and very expensive.

After the last few weeks a whole day in my own house seems positively decadent and I can't settle to anything, despite the devastation all around.

They keep leaving all the doors open and without the windows too, I am absolutely ice cold frozen! I have fingerless gloves, a jacket and scarf on and still I'm shivering.

On the plus side, I will soon be toastie warm and was able to indulge in Heinz Cream of Tomato Soup (a king of soups) and hot chocolate for lunch.

I also found this, It had been stuck into one of the windows, probably as draught proofing many years ago. Some research later and I learn that The Dail Sketch Newspaper was set up by Sir Edward Hutton in 1909 and based in manchester. The paper was last published in 1971 when it merged with the Daily Mail - and I thought I lived in a posh part of town!

I have always loved advertising and marketing, the packaging of a new product, the ad that draws you in. How they have changed. Holloways Pills which are free to skin sufferers was founded in 1860 and is, apparently, perhaps the most famous patented medicines. a quote from another ad suggests that 3/4 of children die before 8 years and says ' let mothers then be wise and give to their children small doses of these invaluable pills .... The gross humors which are constantly running through their blood are the forerunners of complaints.'

Poor babes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.