The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Foggy sunrise

Today as we left the house, we were shrouded in fog. I dropped Wifie at the train station in Arnside and headed back to Arnside Tower Farm. The road here is a little higher up the hill than our house, just high enough as it happened to be above the fog.

The sun was just breaking through as I arrived. The fog was drifting quickly and the light changing constantly. I took about 10 photographs before the sun disappeared behind the fog and the colour from the sky was lost. I might have blipped any one of these as the light was different in each one and the tree was drifting in and out of the mist.

I have posted another image here. There was a feature in the alternative blip that I didn't notice until I looked at the image on the screen.

A productive day at work, escaping briefly at lunchtime to go on a waxwing hunt. We found them in the poplars outside Abbot Hall in Kendal, 40-50 in total, flycatching against the blue sky, and flying sorties in small groups to feed on Sorbus hips. I have lots of images of small specs at the top of a tree, perhaps I need a telephoto lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.