Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

The memorial

My son and I stopped off at a local Veteran's memorial on the way back from his school today. The sun was shining, and the clouds were gorgeous. That is where I found this shot.

The memorial has many engraved bricks, which have been decorated with small American flags and little toy soldiers, jeeps and jets. My son asked me about the toys, and I told him they were for remembering those soldiers who have died.

He grabbed his small notepad and pen and started "documenting the memories" while I took photos of the bay.

When we began driving home, he started talking to me about the memorial in more detail, and I was amazed at his questions and statements.

Things he wanted to know:

"Why did all those people die?" - Me: Because they were in a war.
"Why would they be in a war if they might die?" - Me: Because it was their job.
"Do people go to the hospital when they die?" - Me: Yes, sometimes.
"Grandad died at the hospital." - Me: Yes he did.
"Where do their bodies go when their soul leaves?" - Me (shocked): Sometimes they are buried and sometimes they are cremated...burned in a big oven. Their souls are happy and free.
"Can we send my memory drawing to all their mama's so they don't miss them so much?" Me: I'm not sure who their mama's are, honey.
"That's a sad place, Mama." Me: Yes it is.
"I'm sad Grandad died." Me: Me too.

So much emotion for such a little guy.

Nice in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.