CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Platonic plastic

Oh, peaceful morning, which didn't last long enough. More visitors have now gone again; Annie arrives tomorrow, but only from West Wales, the land of that Bara Brith, I featured recently.

Immy played with Helena all day yesterday and loved Bomble's playfulness. She also loved the Astro-Logix kit, I got for Helena last Christmas. All the kids who come here like playing with these colours and their potential forms. I do too. I used to make some shapes like these, and particularly some Platonic Solids, using drinking straws with cotton threaded inside the straws, to string them all together, in the various shapes. This new plastic set makes it very easy to create, with their multiple types of connectors. My favourite shapes to make are Icosahedrons and Dodecahedrons, and if I go really mad, then it has to be a Penta-Dodecahedron. Perhaps I will make one with straws again soon, as they are much more delicate in their forms, than the plastic ones here.

Dave Thurston showed me how to do it in 1974, and whenever I have travelled since then, I have tried to leave a Platonic Solid behind, as a gift to friends who had looked after me.

Today, I have little time, so a very quick shot of these recent ones hanging where Helena put them after breakfast, is all I can manage. I hope you like them. They won't last like this for long; only till the next childlike person wants to climb into the world of pure forms and get absorbed in a zen-like state. I expect a few Blippers might like to come round here for a bit of that?

ps
Never ever buy completely useless lights like these! I am nearly too embarrassed to show them, but I need to Blip!

pps
The little black blob on the right-hand light shade is in fact an ex-fly, which I have only just noticed expired there some time ago! Apologies! Curse that damn 50mm! It will go now, the fly that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.