The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Autumn Leaf

It has rained all day today and it has been grey (US translation: gray), dull and dismal. Even Smokey spent most of the day indoors, on the back of a chair in his conservatory, listening to the rain on the plastic roof.

I did spend quite some time out in the rain in the afternoon getting quite enjoyably wet, with my pocketable compact that I could better keep dry in the pocket of my cagoule. The Lumix was set on Auto for speed, and the poor light caused it to use fill-in flash and rack up the ISO to 1,000 for most of the shots. The results for those were dull and disappointingly noisy.

It is now more wintry than autumnal and I look with nostalgia at the few red Virginia creeper leaves still to be found in sheltered corners on the ground. This was the first outdoor photograph I took, at 14:38 hr, in slightly better light, and found on the corner of Castle Street and Chaveywell Court, swept to the foot of the back door of a big house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.