Flying-leap

By flying

Australian Coot in NZ

Lovely warm, sunny and calm day, there were many blipopportunities - it was a hard choice. Several landscapes, flowers and birdlife but how often do you see this - for me, not very often, an Australian Coot with her chick.

The Australian Coot arrived in NZ in the 1950's. They are a protected self-introduced native. The young, when first hatched have jet-black down with their heads orange-scarlet. (I photographed this family two weeks ago and didn't blip them, I'm now disappointed as the two chicks had orange-scarlet heads).
The brilliant colouring is soon lost, and the sooty-black plumage is worn for the rest of their lives. They skitter across the water and have a piercing loud call.
The parents are very protective of the young and will not hesitate to scare ducks and pukekos, they are small and dangerous!

Yesterday and today were busy and tomorrow will be the same. Mum and I have been out on a mini adventure and might do another tomorrow, will see what the day brings.  I have tired eyes and aching feet so will go and rest now as I really don't want another migraine. I will catch up with commenting soon and look forward to viewing your journals :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.