Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

My Moments # 8

I haven't penned down my memories for a long time, but there were other things to do. For those of you who have just joined in, I am writing a series in which I am jotting down the various events and recollections of my life. This is the eighth in the series. Here are the other seven:

My Moments # 1
My Moments # 2
My Moments # 3
My Moments # 4
My Moments # 5
My Moments # 6
My Moments # 7

This image has no significance in my life as such. It is not a memento or possession that I have been saving for all these years. I just came across this hand woven stool in my house, found it to be colorful and decided to blip it along with writing down my moments.

Last time I was thinking of ending the memories of Kharian and moving on, but during the past two weeks or so, I have been able to recall a few memories from Kharian which are worth mentioning and I have a feeling that most of today's writeup will be related to Kharian.

There was a time when we were old enough to understand mathematics and science and question as to how things work in real life. It was then that my father taught us how to make fire by using Flintstones. I cannot forget the day and how me and my brother kept on questioning him. The way he inserted one stone in a piece of wood and with another stone he used to strike it to make fire. I do not remember the exact method but it was something like this. My father had a unique style of playing with us and I remember the times when he used to go down on his knees and hands and become a horse for all three of us. We all got our turns to ride him :) Aren't parents the greatest?

Once we were supposed to have some renovations being done in the house and for that purpose the construction material came to our house and was stored in our back yard. All three of us (siblings) went to the back yard and made a huge castle out of sand. I wish we had digital camera's back then and I wish I could record my own life the way I am recording the life of the new born puppies :) I cannot forget the fun we had when we were making the castle and the way we got dirty playing in the sand. I remember being scolded by the parents, but did we care?

My mother at that time was really creative and she used to conduct many experiments in the kitchen. She used to make things like jams, marmalade's, pickles, tomato ketchup and fruit squashes at home. I remember the fruit squash bottles being sterilized, dried, filled with the liquid and then sealed with a cork and hot molten wax. I also remember these things being distributed to friends and neighbors. She also used to grow vegetables in the garden and I remember hating the smell of fennel. Now I love the herb and use its seeds while cooking. We also used to run about in her vegetable garden and spoil her vegetables sometimes.

We had a servant's quarter at the back of the house which was empty as we did not have live in servants. The quarters were used to store extra belongings and crates in which our belongings and furniture was packed while moving from one city to another. Once my brother was playing with his friends in the afternoon with his friends while I was doing my homework. His friends decided to play hide and seek and they got lost in the process. My father and the father of the other kids (they were brothers) searched the whole cantonment for hours but they did not find the boys. My mother in trying to search for the boys accidentally went to the deserted servants quarters all three of them huddled in the corner scared that if they were to be found, a harsh punishment was in store for them. Well, I also got victimized and blamed for not taking care of my little brother, but that happens to the eldest doesn't it?

I also remember the time when I was extremely scared of dogs and even puppies. My father got a pair of pure breed Alsatian puppies and I could not dare play with them as I was so scared. On the other hand when we were leaving Kharian and my parents decided to give them away, I cried like anything.

I don't know why but the memories from Kharian really don't seem to end. While writing these, I also remembered some other memories, that I think I will be writing in the next episode.

Thanks to everyone who have been following this thread regularly and who have been continuously interested and patient enough to read my simple yet very dear memories.

Till next time ...

P.S. The puppies are doing fine, thankfully. We tried to bring the mother and pups outside in the lawn for some Vitamin D :) but she became rebellious and started picking them one by one and taking them back to where she was. So we had to take them back inside. Could not even get a good picture of them.

puppies day 3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.