Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Mama is 42

"What's your favorite childhood birthday memory" asked Nursie Jenn when she arrived just before midnight.

My mind shot back to playing pass the parcel, murder in the dark and musical chairs. Lovely memories of parties Mum had put together for us as kids, my two brothers and two sisters joining in. Dad would decorate the house with streamers and balloons, garishly adorning our home, a blend of Art Nouveau and Georgian styles in a post-war house, such was the 70s custom, til long after the birthday week was over and we'd eat Mum's home made trifle and cakes.

I thought it such a lovely thing to ask, to give me that moment to reminisce and to blow out candles on the cake from the boys at home, making 3 wishes which I did: one for me, one for Reuben, one for Callum. I'd forgotten about wishes. Thank you Jenn.

I'd spent my birthday afternoon at the Getty with the boys being told off by the security guard for one running in one direction and the other down the hill in the other. Ah, but he missed the two boys running along hand in hand to a background of gently Autumnal trees, the SoCal climate meaning a latter turn and fall for them, skipping past the scented garlic rows. Gosh, how photogenic they were with all that stunning late afternoon backlit. They'd been a great disappointment earlier so I thought I'd ask a guy brandishing a posh Nikon with his posh camera buddy if he's shoot us in one of my favourite spots at the Getty and before handing my Canon to him, I told him about my magic buttons, how my 85mm's sweet point was 2.8 and how to handle the backlight, which he looked a bit perturbed about. My challenge has always been how to capture me in my photos with my sons and I in the way I would capture my subjects. It's a style I find beautiful to look at, but I always wish to replace the subjects with the boys and I. I think he did a mighty fine job. Thank you stranger.

We ate dinner at Houstons during which I juggled the boys in and out of highchairs and booster seats trying to keep them entertained whilst sipping on my glass of champagne and lusciously munching on ribs. They'd stand leaning over the back of the booth, dipping into the conversations of romantic couples having candlelight dinners. I blew out a candle in a bowl of icecream and Callum was calmed after his storm into a blissful slumber by it.

Some lovely calls and a few precious presents today. I loved Sarah mog70s gorgeous handmade bracelet that she sent and a few little trinkets. And the birthday calls from my sister and Aurora singing Happy Birthday and KristinaJ and her mum the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.