life of d

By davidd

Children in need

Best viewed bigger!

Here in the UK we have an annual TV appeal for Children called Children in Need, backed by the BBC it is fronted by an improbable Bear called Pudsey who has in the past suffered from some sort of injury which means he has to wear a spotty hankie over one eye.

People up and down the country do things for the charity (generally the sillier the better), the BBC put a lot of effort in, minor celebs turn up and in general a whole pile of money is raised which goes to ... Children in Need (read about it on the site).

This year the school where H teaches decided that the children could come to school in one single colour, they would then get into groups and a photo would be taken to represent through the art of children in huddles, Pudsey bears spotty hankie (or the spots at least). The only problem was how to get high enough up to get a picture.

We decided on the Church tower, brilliant, until we found that Steve the Vicar did not have a key, in fact there was no key for it anywhere in the Church, but there was a ladder...

Now I'm not overly fond of ladders, but I said I'd do it so off I went, up the ladder, over the parapet and onto the roof, alas my rather heavy camera bag made for a rather inelegant sight as I tumbled over the top however I survived and took a few pictures (did I mention it was foggy? No? Well it was foggy). Of which the blip is one. Much jollity ensued as the teachers corralled the children into groups, I snapped happily away.
Then we were finished and it was time to get down. I turned to the ladder at which point 180 infant Children started chanting.... 'Jump Jump, Jump, Jump'. Children in need? More like middle ages bloke in need, of a better ladder ;)

Have a great weekend

Cheers

D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.