Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Fred

This shot features Fred. Fred is a glazier and owns the Glass Man business on Roosevelt Boulevard.

Lennon and McCartney when writing the chorus of I Am The Walrus originally came up with:

I am the glass man
they are the glass men -- I am the walrus.


But after a couple of spliffs, they modified the final version to:

I am the eggman
they are the eggmen -- I am the walrus.


Fred approached me as I was photographing the fence that bounds his premises. A fence post had rotted and was leaning at a drunken angle, creating a sweeping chain-link curve that instantly caught my eye.

Fred wanted to know who I was and what I was doing.

"I am a photographer," I said looking down at my trusty Canon. "Just like I know you are a glazier from your van with the supports at the side for carrying glass."

Fred thought I was from the city council. It's strange how a lot of people in Riverside think I am from the council because I walk round with a camera. City hall in Jacksonville must be a vast reservoir of photographic talent. That explains when you call, you can never get an answer or, if you do get through, are told that the person who deals with the matter is out of the office.

They must all be out on fashion shoots for Vogue or some other photographic assignment. I guess as public servants, they have to supplement their pay in some way. They are hardly likely to get rich working for the City of Jacksonville.

Once again, my English charm placated Fred, so much so that he invited me to take his photograph, which I duly did. Having said that I was a photographer, I could hardly refuse.

We talked a little more and I was introduced to his wife who was sitting in the van. We got to talking about stained glass windows and I told him about those that adorned my house back in England.

Eventually we parted, with Fred wishing me a good day and me wishing him a good weekend.

That is the end of my tale.

Have a good weekend, y'all!

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.