Stephanie's Shots

By stephanie

Good Luck

Second and last day in Milano (day 1). Started with visiting the Salvador Dalí exhibition - was great, definitely worth the money and the wait (which was only 20min to get in, because I was there early - and then the visit took me about 2h30m). Then I went to the Quadrilatero D'Oro to see all the high end fashion shops.

I also went to get my share of good luck at the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II : grinding your heel in the bull's testicles three times round is supposed to bring good luck. According to my lonely planet, this is because the galleria's architect, Giuseppe Mengoni,
"plummeted to his death from scaffolding just weeks before his 14-year tour de force was completed in 1877. Long-standing Milanese tradition claims you can avoid Mengoni's bad luck by grinding your heel into the testicles of the mosaic bull on the floor.
I found out about the 3 times from the people there :) As you can see perhaps, the testicles are no longer visible - a circular hole digs into the underlying cement.

Btw Dalí and Disney's cooperative project Destino is simply amazing.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gimp:
levels 3-1.0-227, contrast+5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.