dailykeith

By dailykeith

English summers & German sweets

I wandered around the city centre after work and was amazed by (a) the number of food-related stalls in the German 'Christmas' market and (b) how few people were using them.

All those huge bratwursts going to waste and the German sweets were not faring much better.

It makes me laugh - after all the hype in the build-up to the arrival of these markets, the novelty very quickly wears off.

I'm sure exactly the same is happening right now in Cheltenham, which has a similar market. Huge anticipation, then it all falls flaaaaaat like a deflated party balloon. Well, that's how I see it, anyway.

They have huge bratwursts there, too. But that's not very Cheltenham, is it?

I can imagine the ladies in their blue rinses and the retired colonels being rather 'Dismayed of Prestbury' about it all - especially as the market has taken over the rather classy Promenade.

Anyway, I didn't feel too good today, which is why I ended up parking myself in the freezing cold opposite Ann Summers and German sweets - and why I ended up blipping about Christmas again.

I've been told I'm being too negative about this season of goodwill to all men, and maybe I am (makes mental note to start being positive about Christmas).

It's just that, as someone known to frequent churches now and again, I have the true calendar and meaning in my head at all times.

And I know that advent means 'coming', is all about expectation and preparation for the arrival of the Messiah, lasts for four Sundays and doesn't start until this weekend. Christmas is still a long way off.

But I'll stop moaning. Honest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.