day face

Until today I hadn't had to call in a baby-related semi-sicky emergency holiday but if how unpleasantly tired and pharyngeally compromised I felt this morning is my threshold for using up a day's holiday to try and catch up on the sleep which was deemed unavailable by the wingpiglet's discomfort/wailing protocols then I hope it doesn't happen again very soon. I'm not sure who's caught who's illness but he's been snorting and burbling for most of the week whereas I only gradually started feeling like I had a sore throat throughout the night, when I had plenty of time to notice it appearing in between cuddling the wean and observing Nicky attempting likewise to try and get him to be asleep and not crying, rather than asleep but crying (which would otherwise be impressive) or not crying but not asleep and not in his cot and not not in contact with a shoulder of some kind. We might have eventually got a couple of hours' sleep between us but not enough to be able to pretend to think in an overheated and over-dry office environment, nor enough to make me think that a refreshing cycle across the city would be much substitute for having properly rested overnight. After a morning trying to sleep but still feeling slightly zombified Nicky's parents popped in on their way past to visit just after lunch, leaving a bit of the afternoon to clean and re-oil my bike but not enough to go outside for any sort of meaningful nasal cleansing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.