Back on the saddle

I waited for dawn to arrive. It arrived cloudy. In India, cloudy has a warm touch to it, while here it is a bit cold. I think the "white balance" more accurate here. After a while I could wait no longer and in all black, except for my shoes, I left. What I did not like about the ride was how frequently I had to encounter traffic signals. But for the rest of it, I have nothing but praise. I loved the smooth roads and how unapologetically they climbed up and sloped down. The clean air makes such a huge difference when it comes to cycling. I did break a few traffic rules of course: jumped a signal (though barely seconds after it had turned red), took an U-turn where there was none. Though I'm here only for a few weeks, I wouldn't give up on an opportunity to ride. Wondering if I should ride to work tomorrow, but for that I will have to find a route that doesn't involve the highway.

Another super busy day followed, both at work and with its share of meetings. Tomorrow shall be another challenge. An evening walk is a great idea here. The weather and light are perfect (the shadows are the longest I might have ever seen) and with the trees and the wind, it's a great foil to a busy day. As I type this, I can still smell the cookie I just had - huge and flaked with a generous helping of a variety of melting chocolate chips. They should have more of this in India. Atlanta should share some of its colour too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.