Rainy road

Like the last few days, I expected the clouds to evaporate with the day. Had an important meeting for which I had to do a bit of background yesterday. Yet I decided to bike to work. I had looked at Google maps and the path looked rather simple and 5.1 miles would take me about 20-25 minutes, that's what I imagined. Then the undulations came. And more beautiful roads. Slopy roads with whitewashed wooden fences, houses few and far between hidden way behind large fields of grass and the woods, small bridges over small streams... Much as I was enjoying it, I kept looking at my watch. I had left with enough time to spare, but after a while something didn't seem quite right. Had to ask for directions from joggers, dog walkers, men raking leaves, people driving cars at traffic signals... finally someone picked up their GPS instead of intuiting and gave me accurate directions. By the time I reached office, I had travelled more than 16 miles and was a couple of minutes late for the meeting. All the while it was drizzling.

It turned out to be a lighter day at work, with things operating well and plans discussed only to be implemented in the long run. Wanted to leave early but the rain had other plans. Had almost forgotten about taking a photo, when I paused while on the way back for a quick shot. Many trees have turned bare since I arrived. But the clouds haven't allowed the cold to settle in yet. I would like to have some cold weather and blue skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.