More roads to ride through

There was light when the day began. Stretches of blue above and wet roads below. I had no early meeting today and the roads are figured out too. No reason not to bike. I do not see other cyclists on the road though. Very rarely when I do come across one, they are going in the wrong direction on sidewalks without helmets and with music in their ears. There are some very neat trails for walking and biking, which cut through the distances and I am planning to do some more exploring over the long weekend. Well, the weekend isn't long really because there are a few things lined up. I haven't really had the time here to do nothing.

Needless to say, all the food here has been very good, but I have to make a note of The Flying Biscuit Cafe, where we went for lunch today which is a chain of "Southern" American food, based in Georgia and a couple of surrounding states. Every bit of it was delicious including the grits. Had things mostly wrapped up, so decided to leave early so that I could take the bike out a bit. And well, again I lost my way. I may need to get a cycling GPS, but I think a good map will do for now. There are some really crazy climbs, much like the San Francisco we see in the movies. I love that bit of the late evening after twilight when the sky turns deep blue and windows emanate a warm glow... I like the way natural and artifical light balance each other out in a kind of harmony. Well of course it was cold and reminded me of winter evenings in hill stations but after riding the body becomes warm and the impact of the cold disappears. My two hour ride ended well into the evening with some terribly slow uphills and some super-fast downhills.

One more advantage of having a bike is it gives you the freedom to stop anywhere, should there be an opportunity to take a photo - just lift the bike upon the sidewalk. This is not possible with a car. Also when I am back after a long ride, my clothes are clean, my shoes are clean, my face is clean, the bike is clean... I think it's to be valued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.