RunningBackwards

By Runningbackwards

1976

All I can remember of 1976 is that I was five and that it was very hot.

Whether I actually remember that or have been told many times about how hot 1976 was I don't really know.

I wonder how many people when prompted with, '1976' would say, 'Ooh yes, a very hot summer'?

Breakfast in the garden, hose pipe bans, parched lawns and the rest.

These are some of the slides from the collection of Arthur Evans, my grandfather. I wonder what he was doing in 1976 but sadly can no longer ask him.

In the years before he died we talked a lot about getting an oral history from him. He'd seen and done a lot and some of those memories are gone forever.

No need to be morose. He did enough for several lifetimes.

Two slide related blips in a row. Is this what you'd call a theme?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.