Vermin or Cute Wee Creature...

The common grey squirrel. There is a squirrel that frequents the graveyard I pass through on my way to my bus. He's a very timid wee creature and is very hard to properly photograph.

This wee thing was sitting in the flower bed beside the big flower clock on Princes Street. He just let me sit the camera right beside him as he fouraged for something or other in the flower bed getting his nose all mucky.

I showed the picture to someone and they pronounced them as vermin. Now I've never thought of them like that. I know there is some debate over the grey and red squirrel with the red being rarer and more revered but I've never thought of them as vermin.

It occurred to me that yes they could quite possibly end up in the same category as rats but with posh tails but then I daresay any creature has become labelled vermin only through human presence on this planet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.