Sunbeams

By Saffi

Shelf life

I have enjoyed looking at corners of other people's houses and so here is my offering - from the smallest room!

On the shelf is a collection of The Crime Club's Agatha Christie's novels next to some children's books including several by A A Milne and R L Stevenson. The pottery Great Dane was made by a very talented friend from long ago. The jug on the right comes from my husband's family who used to keep pubs a few generations ago. It is Victorian and has the following verse inscribed upon it:

"Come my old friend and take a Pot
But mark now what I say:
While thy drinks thy neighbour's health
Drink not thine own away.
It too often is the case
While we sit o'oer a Pot
And kindly wish our friends good health
Our own is quite forgot."

The cockerel candlestick was given to me recently from Portugal by my goddaughter. The map hanging below is an old one of Somerset.

Snow has arrived in Cornwall but not in Somerset - yet! I hope those who are bogged down by it already are managing to keep warm at least.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.