Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Pelicans at Greenwell Point

A long walk today around the coastal headland of Orient Point, out to the Crookhaven lighthouse and then onto Culburra beach with lots of stops to take photographs of this new (to us) landscape. Yet when we returned I was finding it very difficult to choose one image to be todays `blip'. I wanted a photograph that reflected the deep blue-green of the sea and yet said something about the unique landscape. In the end I think all the photographs are `memory shots' that will help me recall the walk. If I had to choose one from the walk it would probably be the view of the derelict lighthouse tower, though this did not capture anything of the sense of the sea.

In the early evening we set off for Greenwell Point, a small fishing village that we saw across the estuary earlier in the day (probably half a kilometre away across the water and twenty some kilometres by road). I thought we might get some evening shots of the fishing boats and probably some fish to eat. We got both. Blue Grenadier and chips and the magic of the evening light. I haven't enhanced the colour of this image, in fact I needed to darken some of the highlights, though it was taken with a polarising filter. Finally I felt that I'd captured my `blip' of the day and it was a great first day on the South Coast of NSW.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.